- Infos im HLRS Wiki sind nicht rechtsverbindlich und ohne Gewähr -

Workspace mechanism

From HLRS Platforms
Revision as of 14:26, 9 November 2007 by Hpcbk (talk | contribs)
Jump to navigationJump to search

This mechanism allows you to keep data outside your home not only during a run, but also after a run. The idea is to allocate disk space for a number of days, and giving it a name, which allows you identify a workspace, and to distinguish several workspaces. It is also possible to allocate workspaces on different filesystems, which are prepared for workspaces on the local host.

Allocating new workspace:

 MYSCR=`ws_allocate SimulatesomeThing 10` 
    MYSCR will contain the name of a directory which exists for 10 days, is on a temporary filesystem, and is owned by the caller. The directory is not deleted after the job, but after 10 days of realworld time. In a second job, you can just use the same line to get the same directory. Please note that the directory of the example will be deleted 10 days after first usage, no matter how often it is used and what duration was specified in the subsequent calls.
    Options:
   ws_allocate [-F filesystem] name duration 
    The option -F filesystem specifies the filesystem on which your workspace will be located. If this option is omitted, then your workspace will be located on a default filesystem.

Listing your workspaces and available workspace filesystems:

 ws_list
    Lists all workspaces of the default workspace filesystem, their names and locations as well as remaining live time.
 ws_list -F gpfs
    Lists your workspaces of gpfs filesystem.
 ws_list -a
    Lists your workspaces in all workspace filesystems.
 ws_list -l
    list all available workspace filesystems

Release a workspace:

 ws_release [-F filesystem] name 
    Release the workspace 'name' on the specified filesystem. If the optione '-F filesystem' is omitted, then the workspace 'name' will be released on the default workspace filesystem. The user are responsible for releasing the correct workspace. After a workspace is released or the workspace is expired, then the directory of this workspace will be deleted.

Register your workspaces:

 ws_register -F filesystem dir
    This command will create/update in directory 'dir/filesystem' symbolic links of your workspaces in the specified 'filesystem'. If filesystem = ALL, then all of your workspaces in all available filesystems will be registered in the specified 'dir'. The symbolic links could be useful for getting some more information about your workspaces e.g. find ..., du ..., ls ..., ....